Customer reviews from sony.com
Sony - Alpha a5100 Mirrorless Camera (Body Only) - Black
Average customer rating
4.2 out of 5
4.2
(52 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
6
85%of customers recommend this product. 
(
39 out of 46
)
Best Buy Privacy Policy
Customer Reviews for Sony - Alpha a5100 Mirrorless Camera (Body Only) - Black
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Great everything camera!
on September 30, 2018
Posted by: ladyO
Gender:Female
Verified Purchase:Yes
We bought this camera for our 2 week vacation overseas. It was perfect! We enjoyed using the selfie feature more than we thought. It took beautiful photos in all lighting. The only thing we couldn't figure out is how to take better photos of backlit scenes, but I think that's a user errors. It takes photos quickly. We couldn't be happier.
Perfect for a a novice who wants great photos, and wants to learn more about photography without being overwhelmed.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Very good camera for beginners
on November 3, 2020
Posted by: Anonymous
Gender:Male
I started my journey into photography with it and so far, the camera has been carrying me for three years.
As I've never had taken any photos other than with a smartphone before I focused on ease of use and comprehensive menu structure as well as compact size and upgradeability with other lenses on purchase. Slowly I have thaught myself the basic "how-to's" and now I can see some shortcomings of it - foremost the lack of a viewfinder or a hotshoe to attach one. The grip could also be a tad more pronounced. But yet again - even now, as I am considering uptrading to a Sony Alpha 7 Mk 2 - I am still able to shoot very good pictures with it and I'm sure that I still haven't reached its full potential.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Great pictures!
on January 5, 2021
Posted by: Anonymous
Gender:Female
I got this for Christmas and I love it. It’s super clear and gives high quality pictures. I love that I can send it straight to my iPhone without needing a computer. I love it def worth buying.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Great camera but one glaring flaw.
on April 22, 2015
Posted by: JeMO
This is a fantastic camera, it has the same APS-C sensor, processor, and auto focus system as the a6000 in a smaller package. You can accomplish some quite amazing photos and and is compact enough to have with you all day.
I'm rating it 4 stars but it should really be 3.5 due to one major glaring flaw (would be 5 if this issue is fixed). For what ever reason Sony has decided to remove the function menu in this camera. The previous NEX-5T and pretty much ever other Sony camera, even the RX100 has a function menu. Several of the buttons are programmable including the "?" button yet there is no ability to make it pull up the function menu for quick access to your most used setting.
This truly is a shame and cuts the camera off at the knees as it is otherwise extremely capable in M, A, or S mode. Without this function menu feature you are forced to menu dive to make changes to many of your favorite settings which is a huge chore. I am baffled why this feature is not in the camera and even more confused why it hasn't been fixed. Several reviews have mentioned this glaring omission and it should be easily resolved with a firmware update yet nothing has happened.
Response from sony.comBy MitchSony SupportApril 28, 2015
Hi JeMO,

Thank you for giving us feedback on the camera. We will forward your request to the right department.
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Smart and Fast
on April 1, 2017
Posted by: JToeppen
Gender:Male
Verified Purchase:Yes
This is a fast light weight camera with a great sensor with high speed and low light capabilities. The fast high ISO are no noisey joke, one can take waterfall shots by moonlight and get nice starfields. Mirrorless has a clear form advantage and the reliability of the focus is very good, which is great, because you can not set it yourself. The manual modes are not very manual. However, the "superior auto settings" will bracket for you if necessary, and make that decision quickly, well under two seconds. And you do have some nice bracke modes for RAW work. This is a good value for those who want a big sensor in a small body and want to use other lenses. I might buy a second one of these.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Amazing for it's size, lens options could improve
on July 9, 2015
Posted by: cameratime1212
Verified Purchase:Yes
Some background about me. I'm serious about photography but don't always want to carry around a backpack full of gear. My approach with the a5100 was to replace my aps-c DSLR with it. I think I'm going to settle on still having a dslr (but a full frame one), keeping the a5100, and using them each about 50/50.
The Sony a5100 is really awesome for a compact aps-c mirrorless camera. Most of the negative reviews come from the lack of an evf or physical controls. The a6000 has those, so if that's what you want, get the a6000. I prefer the a5100 because its just small enough to fit into a pocket with most of the lenses I have. I don't find switching settings too slow without the physical controls and the screen is pretty viewable in sunlight if you crank the brightness to sunlight mode (although admittedly an evf would be awesome if it stayed small).
Anyways the dynamic range is amazing (although really only useful if you shoot raw and post process), and the high ISO noise is good compared to other aps-c cameras, although still far from the full frame competition.
The only real downside to this camera is the lens selection/prices and the autofocus is awesome on slow moving subjects but isn't as good as a dslr when it comes to sports or fast action (I don't have kids, or shoot sports too often so this is fine by me but I'd imagine that's a lot of people's concern).
For the lenses I have the 55-210mm, the 20mm pancake, the 35mm f/1.8, the 50mm f/1.8, and the kit 16-50mm. I really like prime lenses for the large aperture and the general image quality (plus Sony's image stabilization works like a charm). The 50mm f/1.8 is awesome. Great image quality at a good price. The others disappoint a little, and some of the ones I don't own and even worse that don't exist are a letdown too. The 35mm should cost a little less or be a little sharper, and I really wish there was a high quality prime in the 20-25mm (~35mm full frame equivalent) range that was essentially like the Zeiss 24mm but doesn't cost as much (I don't care if it drops the Zeiss name). Canon, Nikon, Fuji, and Olympus have this, but the $1,100 for the Zeiss is simply too much. That lens is nice but nowhere near good enough to justify the price. The main competitors charge half. It's also, unfortunately my favorite focal length, so instead I'm using the 20mm pancake, which is decent for a pancake, although I'd personally rather have a bigger lens that's sharper and with a wider aperture, and I'd pay up to $600 for it.
Unfortunately too it seems Sony if focusing more on full frame lens development--not too many releases in the last year for aps-c, so my hope isn't likely to be fulfilled unless they do another price drop on the Zeiss. Also a faster standard zoom or telephoto would be great as well.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1
Phone connection
on August 1, 2020
Posted by: Sprite34
Gender:Male
No longer connects to my phone. Everytime I want to transfer a picture I have to manually do it.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1
bought for streaming. the HDMI output is grainy
on May 29, 2020
Posted by: alstergee
Gender:Male
Verified Purchase:Yes
took several settings runs to get it SLIGHTLY less grainy in movie mode but this was sold to me as the "perfect streaming DSLR" and that was a total lie
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Showing 17-24 of 52 results 
<< 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>