Customer reviews from sony.com
Sony - Alpha a5100 Mirrorless Camera (Body Only) - Black
Average customer rating
4.2 out of 5
4.2
(52 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
6
85%of customers recommend this product. 
(
39 out of 46
)
Best Buy Privacy Policy
Customer Reviews for Sony - Alpha a5100 Mirrorless Camera (Body Only) - Black
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Great #2 camera.
on March 3, 2018
Posted by: Rich in Lukang
Gender:Male
Verified Purchase:Yes
I bought this camera while my DSLR was out of commission. It was also an experimental purchase to check out whether or not I wanted to go mirrorless with my next major camera purchase. It's a great little camera with only a couple of hang-ups. #1 No viewfinder. #2 No flash shoe. I'd wanted to purchase the a6000, which has both a viewfinder and a flash shoe, but it wasn't available and I desperately needed a camera. Regardless, I've been using it for about a year and it's turned out to be a nice little back up camera to my DSLR.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1
Over Heats
on January 3, 2019
Posted by: alexandriarose
Gender:Female
Verified Purchase:Yes
I can not film for more than 20 minutes before my camera shuts off due to over heating. This is so frustrating and it's been more than 2 weeks so I cannot return the product either. A complete waste of money for me.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from sony.comBy -JenSony Social SupportJanuary 7, 2019
Hi alexandriarose, We regret to hear this. Are you getting any warning Icon or error message when the camera temperature rises? Please refer to the link below for further assistance;
https://www.sony.com/electronics/support/e-mount-body-ilce-5000-series/ilce-5100/articles/00012957. Regards,
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1
ONE Star
on February 6, 2019
Posted by: Kirian_13
Gender:Female
Verified Purchase:Yes
Bought this camera brand new and has given me so many problems since then. Starting with the camera over heating after the 10 min. mark. It is not charging properly, and looses all my data from the memory cards. Bought this camera for vlogging purposes, never again. Still seeing what I am going to do since I have to keep uploading content every week.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Good camera
on April 10, 2015
Posted by: Tral4l4
Verified Purchase:Yes
This is a good camera, takes very nice pictures. Screen is a bit tough to see during sunlight. Touchscreen focus is very nice. If it would have a viewfinder and the touch screen would work in the menus as well, it would be the perfect camera.
I was deciding between this camera and the a6000, but chose the a5100 because it has the same guts as the a6000 + better video codec, is smaller, has flip up screen, and is smaller/lighter.
I am very happy with the purchase.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Response from sony.comBy MitchSony SupportApril 13, 2015
Hi TRal414,

It's very nice to hear that you love the a5100 camera. As for the LCD display, you can change the setting of the Monitor Brightness to Sunny Weather when using outdoors.
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
GOOD Camera
on July 25, 2015
Posted by: CEYLONSRI
Verified Purchase:Yes
Handy. Low light performance. Picture quality. Above 3 are the best features. Lack of viewfinder & hot shoe are shortcomings.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
First Camera Purchase and not at dissapointment
on July 14, 2015
Posted by: ericbarrow
Verified Purchase:Yes
This camera takes amazing photos, very satisfied with the build and overall quality of the camera.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Amazing Quality
on July 20, 2017
Posted by: Ernyvil
Gender:Male
Verified Purchase:Yes
I was looking for a good quality camera. I read the reviews and decided to purchase it. It's an amazing camera
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Excellent camera
on June 16, 2018
Posted by: idf75
Gender:Male
Verified Purchase:Yes
I bought this camera 5 months ago.Before this, I couldn't take a picture to my daughter because she is allways in movement.. With this camera I can take excellent pictures to my daughter even when she is running.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting sony.com
Showing 9-16 of 52 results 
<< 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 >>