Customer reviews from Garmin
Garmin - Instinct 2 Solar 45 mm Smartwatch Fiber-reinforced Polymer - Mist Gray
Average customer rating
4.3 out of 5
4.3
(10 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
Best Buy Privacy Policy
Customer Reviews for Garmin - Instinct 2 Solar 45 mm Smartwatch Fiber-reinforced Polymer - Mist Gray
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Heart rate zone training
on February 12, 2022
Posted by: Tom12
Cardiologist recommended heart rate zone training, so I got the Instinct 2 and the HRM dual. I wear 1.5 reading glasses and was concerned I would not be able to decipher the numbers on the display. Heart rate display is small and cluttered in normal mode, but during a run the numbers are big and readable in sunlight. The lower left button toggles the display between heart rate and time making it easy to maintain target heart rate and know how much time is left in the session.
Response from GarminBy GarminOutdoorFebruary 14, 2022
Thank you for your review. Jenny
Written by a customer while visiting Garmin
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Strong and Light
on February 24, 2022
Posted by: BigFan3345
I have had the previous Instinct, and Solar, and Fenix Solar and other Garmin watches. I have come back to this new Instinct 2. There is so much that I like about it, all the other features of those other watches add weight, cost and consume battery. The Instinct 2 is a great improvement to an already fantastic watch.
Response from GarminBy GarminOutdoorFebruary 24, 2022
Thank you for your review. Jenny
Written by a customer while visiting Garmin
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Everything I need
on February 25, 2022
Posted by: Todd501
I had the first 2 models of the Instinct but was always wishing I could have the additional metrics only found in upgrading to the Fenix. I couldn’t justify the cost with the need. BUT NOW I have it all! This watch is basically the Fenix without the colors and touchscreen! Light, durable and all the metric data you will need. Whether you are a serious runner/outdoor/workout fanatic or just a casual fitness enthusiast who likes to keep track of your health data, this watch has it all! Best purchase I have made in a long time! Thank you Garmin for making the perfect watch for me!
Response from GarminBy GarminOutdoorMarch 1, 2022
Thank you for your review. Jenny
Written by a customer while visiting Garmin
Customer Rating
3 out of 5
3
Great tracking but noticed a few opportunities
on February 25, 2022
Posted by: Mountainspeaks
I cant read the screen when wearing my sunglasses. Also, I have had to do a hard reset once when it froze on me. Otherwise, I like its features and wear it everyday. I get about 8 days of use on a full charge because I have most features on.
Response from GarminBy GarminOutdoorMarch 1, 2022
Thank you for your review and experience with the Instinct 2 Solar. We would like to discuss this further over email. If you would please email us at product.support@garmin.com.
Thanks Jenny
Written by a customer while visiting Garmin
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Excellent upgrades levels-up the Instinct Solar
on February 26, 2022
Posted by: Frosty367
Purchased this upgraded edition of the Instinct Solar as soon as it appeared. The feature additions were exactly what I was looking for without having to go with the high-end touchscreen devices. This device checks all the boxes for me. Battery life is exceptional (best-in-class) and a must-have feature for my usage which includes many all-day or multi-day excursions. This device features more satellite system integration so tracking is extremely accurate and fast to acquire. The menu system is logical and intuitive and operation is quick and responsive. (Garmin has come a long way in making their devices functional and intuitive from their disastrous past implementations, IMHO). I really appreciate the variety of built-in sports applications - I use many of them, and like that I can add/subtract them easily as my list changes by seasons. The addition of Pulse Ox, V02 max, and other health features aligns this device with the higher-end devices as a great price-point. Finally, I appreciate the addition of safety features such as Incident Detection. Note, however, that one must be prepared for false alerts, and know how to cancel them - this is not described in the manual nor online so you have 15 seconds to figure it out the first time it happens! Don't worry though, if you send a false alert the device gives you the option to send a follow-up "I'm Okay" message (if you participate in a lot of activities that involve a lot of motion you will end up exercising this feature - but, I think it is worth the peace-of-mind if something bad does occur). So far, operation has been near flawless, although I have had experience with Garmin's connect system going down, and other device/fw bugs, with other Garmin devices, so not holding my breath. Garmin Connect app is top notch and phone integration is also near perfection. Bottom line: if you need extended (potentially infinite) battery life for longer excursions, and are looking for a fully-loaded fitness/activity/health tracking instrument, this is IMHO the best there is.
Response from GarminBy GarminOutdoorMarch 1, 2022
Thank you for your review. Jenny
Written by a customer while visiting Garmin
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Tons of feature but small screen - deserve a 1,40″
on February 28, 2022
Posted by: TheNono
A reference in terms of features set however screen is too small to fully enjoys all functionalities especially during an activity (text and icons too small). A more "tough design" would be welcome with bigger buttons and additional protections. An Instinct 2 X in 51 would be welcom Mr.Gamin.
Response from GarminBy GarminOutdoorMarch 1, 2022
Thank you for your review. Jenny
Written by a customer while visiting Garmin
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Лучшие часы для аутдора, спорта и приключений!
on March 5, 2022
Posted by: Killjoy
Владел Instinct первого поколения, был в восторге.
Второе поколение - огромный шаг вперед. Часы работают быстрее и лучше. Добавили пульсоксиметр и улучшили отслеживание состояния здоровья.
Зарядка от солнца - киилерфича. Теперь в многодневных походах можно вообще не париться. Автономность в режиме часов + отслеживание пульса (без пульсоксиметра и уведомлений с телефона) увеличилась в 2 раза, до 28 дней. На солнце вообще будет бесконечно, мне кажется.
Рекомендую, пацаны!
Response from GarminBy GarminOutdoorMarch 7, 2022
Благодарим вас за отзыв. Дженни
Written by a customer while visiting Garmin
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Works well but overly complicated for me
on March 30, 2022
Posted by: George51
I bought the Instinct 2 Solar to replace my 735 XT, which I had used happily for triathlon training and racing for many years.
When it looked like the 735 might not last much longer, and I saw that it was discontinued, I looked for a replacement. I had received an email from Garmin touting the Instinct 2 and decided to buy it just over a month ago for the following reasons: 1. Better battery life plus solar charging. 2. More rugged. 3. More accurate GPS.
The battery life is indeed better and it recharges very quickly, but I am not convinced that it would last 29 days without GPS usage. After such a short time I can't judge how rugged it is or how accurate the GPS, but I am willing to believe those claims. A pleasant surprise is that the Instinct 2 pairs with my smart bike trainer. I have been using the timer for ice treatments and stretching and the sleep monitoring functions, which I did not do with the 735.
Like the 735 and maybe all such watches, the Instinct 2 does not do a great job counting laps in the pool; it always misses a few turns, understating the distance and distorting the overall statistics.
My only real complaint is that with its abundance of features I personally do not need, it is a bit more complicated to use than the 735 for simple workouts. Also, the display is harder to read during a run or pool swim during rest through swim goggles) with the tiny numbers in the small circle in the upper right-hand corner. I liked the 735 display better, even though the Instinct 2 has more pixels. To accommodate all the features, Garmin has added a third button on the left side of the watch; since that reduces the spacing, it is harder to change screens during a run. They also added a function to enable or disable the lap key, essential when doing interval workouts or measuring distances along a hiking route. I could not figure out why I could not measure laps until I called the always super-helpful Garmin support team, who told me about this function, which is inexplicably not included in the full-length manual.
In summary, I love being able to record and view all my training statistics with this watch, and am getting used to accessing the functions I need, but it is not a perfect 5 for the reasons mentioned above.
Response from GarminBy GarminOutdoorMarch 30, 2022
Thank you for your review. Jenny
Written by a customer while visiting Garmin
Showing 1-8 of 10 results 
1 2 >>