Customer reviews from dell.com
Dell Thunderbolt Dock - WD19TBS - Black - Black
Average customer rating
4 out of 5
4
(380 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 380 reviews
5 Stars
212
4 Stars
64
3 Stars
34
2 Stars
28
1 Star
42
77%of customers recommend this product. 
(
257 out of 333
)
Best Buy Privacy Policy
Customer Reviews for Dell Thunderbolt Dock - WD19TBS - Black - Black
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1
Cannot support a new Dell XPS laptop
on November 14, 2020
Posted by: Anonymous
Verified Purchase:Yes
I bought this because my old (not Dell) docking station has not enough power to feed my new Dell XPS 15 laptop. The vendor at the Dell website recommended me this one because supposedly it could charge the laptop, and I would be able to connect my three external monitors.
So, although the charging part was solved, this docking station cannot run three external monitors (only two). The people from Dell support told me that I need a special video card on my laptop.
The funny thing is that my much cheaper pluggable docking station runs the three external monitors without any problem. I have to connect the charger to solve the charging part, but it is working fine with the same video board.
This Dell product is very expensive and not compatible with any Dell computer. I had to return the item, which is not an easy thing to do at Dell, even when I bought the product directly from them.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from dell.comBy Fred@DellDellRRNovember 19, 2020
Hello Marcelo Calderon,

Thank you for your review and feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience. We'll update Dell with the details in regard to your Thunderbolt dock.

For additional support, please call Dell directly at 1-800-624-9896

Best,
Fred@Dell
Chat or Call:
https://bit.ly/DellSupportTeam
Written by a customer while visiting dell.com
Customer Rating
2 out of 5
2
A crapshoot - which ports are working today?
on February 27, 2020
Posted by: GeoffL
I bought this dock to use with both my new Dell Laptop (Thunderbolt 3) and a Macbook. Connecting either system to the dock is an exciting adventure - which ports will work today? Sometimes everything, sometimes nothing, sometimes only some of the things. I can get a double external monitor plus keyboard/mouse/networking working fine - sometimes. Other times the USB-C monitor will work but the Mini-DP won't; other times vice versa. It feels chintzy, unreliable and annoying - and it's hard to take seriously any of the incessant "have you tried unplugging it and replugging it / power-cycling / installing every driver under the sun" messaging, when the system actually works a lot of the time.
Written by a customer while visiting dell.com
Customer Rating
2 out of 5
2
Needs Work
on March 25, 2020
Posted by: Chase M.
Verified Purchase:Yes
Works, sort of. If you disconnect from the dock and then reconnect it doesn't recognize the USB keyboard and mouse plugged into the dock. I've tried multiple combinations, but none will work. I have to open the lid, login, wait then connect the dock. 4 out of 5 times this will work. Love my Dell XPS 13 2 in 1, do not love this dock.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting dell.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Excellent compact dock
on November 30, 2020
Posted by: Nikoloz Nadiradze
Verified Purchase:Yes
Definitely one of the best compact docks from Dell.... great solution to organize your wires :) wired network, additional monitor, external HDD dock, trackball usb receiver, supplied PSU, MCU programmer and USB hub (yes, unfortunately there is little bit shortage on USB ports :) ) - all connected and only wire coming to my XPS15 is dock connection wire, ThunderBolt one, delivering power and all peripheral communications at really amazing speeds.
There was one concern and question regarding site description ("prepare for Future"), which far overseas "tech support" couldn't answer - all WD19 docks (regular, DC, TB) have exactly the same body including all peripheral ports and power input and "header" part, which is attached to body (couple screws) and has connection wire pigtail towards PC and is either regular USB C or ThunderBolt (in case WD19TB), supplied with different size PSUs - 130W, 180W or 210W (as I remember for DC)... in fact, you can order any of PSU separate from Dell, but there was no clear answer regarding detachable part of the dock - is there option to order those parts separate as additional or not? if not, I don't see the reason it is designed to be detachable at all :)
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting dell.com
Customer Rating
2 out of 5
2
What out for the Security 'Feature'
on February 18, 2020
Posted by: Patrick
Verified Purchase:Yes
Our Dell Rep indicated that this would be the best dock for our Institution. However, Windows computers sleep the Thunderbolt port so you cannot use the peripheral devices to login. You must open the laptop to login.
Written by a customer while visiting dell.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
driving 2 monitors with Ubuntu 20.04
on June 12, 2020
Posted by: Jeff B.
Verified Purchase:Yes
This docking station works really well. I'm driving a 1440p 60hz and 1080p 60hz monitor using it with an HP laptop for work and (not at the same time) a dell xps 2020 running ubuntu 20.04 LTS.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting dell.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Great with Precision 7540
on June 13, 2020
Posted by: Z
Verified Purchase:Yes
After updating the drivers, the dock came to life immediately and flawlessly (with a Precision 7540) with a single HDMI monitor and several USB peripherals. I do wish for more USB ports, and the somewhat limited Thunderbolt power to the Precision requires plugging in both 180W power supplies. Unlike old docks, one might also need a laptop stand to put the keyboard at an angle.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting dell.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Great dock with plenty of connectivity
on December 2, 2019
Posted by: Victor
Verified Purchase:Yes
The dock works great with my XPS 7590. My only complaint or change I would like to see is to have the Thunderbolt cable able to be connected on either end instead of fixed coming out of one end. The way my desk is setup at work it is kind of awkward. This little change would offer us a lot of flexibility in our work spaces. Other than that minor inconvenience this is a great little dock. Provides ample power to my laptop, offers more than enough connections for dual monitors, peripherals, speakers, ethernet and more. Even works with my MacBook Pro when I need to connect it. You can't go wrong with this one.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting dell.com
Showing 1-8 of 380 results 
1 2 3 4 5 ... 48 >>