Customer reviews from cafeappliances.com
Café - 5.6 Cu. Ft. Freestanding Gas Convection Range - Matte Black
Average customer rating
4.5 out of 5
4.5
(111 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 111 reviews
5 Stars
85
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
6
90%of customers recommend this product. 
(
95 out of 105
)
Best Buy Privacy Policy
Customer Reviews for Café - 5.6 Cu. Ft. Freestanding Gas Convection Range - Matte Black
Customer Rating
1 out of 5
1
Sent Two Back!
on October 17, 2019
Posted by: Kulpots
from Berthoud, CO
I had to send two of this model back. Both emitted gas every time I turned on the oven. The first one was worse than the second. The gas smell was so bad that up to 40 minutes after turning off the range, I could smell gas in ever room of my 1700 square foot home. I even had neighbors come over to verify. That one was replaced with a second of this same model. Same gas problem but not quite as strong. In addition, the second one also had sticky glue all along the edge above where the oven door closed. There was no getting it off with ANYTHING.
I did love the cook top. I loved the responsiveness of the knobs which are very precise. That's why I have stuck with Cafe. I ended up with a THIRD of the CGS700P2MS1, which is the gas slide in. No gas smell. Initially, the place I got all of these ranges suggested that maybe I was not used to a gas oven when in fact, I've been cooking with all gas for 40 years. To GE's credit (or the store I bought them from) did not give me any problem with the returns.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Written by a customer while visiting cafeappliances.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Better than our old cafe range.
on January 2, 2020
Posted by: Smalls3136
from Moorestown, NJ
We replaced a different cafe range with this one. The new range bakes far more evenly than the old one. The burners seem stronger as well. I didn’t select it for the wifi capabilities but have already enjoyed preheating remotely. Checking in on the timer is great also.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting cafeappliances.com
Customer Rating
2 out of 5
2
Full of Flaws
on April 8, 2020
Posted by: JoeyJoJo
from North Carolina
I bought this 4 months ago. I really wanted to love it, but the build quality is extremely poor. Doors are gapped, warming drawer is very flimsy, and oven door seal does not stay attached to the oven wall.
Written by a customer while visiting cafeappliances.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Best Freestanding Range
on May 11, 2020
Posted by: Abbys999
from Washington, DC
Awesome high quality range that looks professional.
Pros:
looks, powerful burners, wifi connection, temperature probe, large oven, sturdy handles and knobs, and edge-to-edge grates. Cooks evenly and the middle grill is convenient.
Cons: Oven is not quiet (not sure if this is typical for gas), and slight electronic buzzing that we noticed once it was plugged in at installation. I wish that a center grate for pots was included (not sold separately) in addition to the grill. For a high quality range, you'd think it would be included.
Bottom line: best free-standing gas range we could find for our recently purchased condo. Looks amazing in kitchen and we enjoy cooking on it. The ability to control the oven from an app is something we use and enjoy. We look forward to getting our Cafe over-the-range microwave installed to match.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting cafeappliances.com
Customer Rating
4 out of 5
4
Nice cooking, but not great baking, poor display
on April 1, 2021
Posted by: Mo22
from Longs, SC
Love the gas burners. Grill in center is cast iron and needs some time to season and train it. Baking is subpar as it does not cook thru. Might need temp adjustment. Display LED is terrible. Looks like a child’s toy. Needs to be further developed for such a high price.
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
Response from cafeappliances.comBy Mike@CafeCafe May 11, 2021
Hey there,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. We're awfully sorry to hear that your oven is not baking properly! We can understand how this would be frustrating. If you need to adjust the oven temperature, you can find instructions on page 13 of the owner's manual. https://products.geappliances.com/MarketingObjectRetrieval/Dispatcher?RequestType=PDF&Name=49-85255-2.pdf

Let us know if you have any questions or concerns. Stay well! Mike@Cafe
Written by a customer while visiting cafeappliances.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Looks good
on November 23, 2020
Posted by: My Dishwasher
from Detroit, MI
Hope it works as good as it looks. Was easy enough to hook up
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting cafeappliances.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Four great features.
on March 6, 2019
Posted by: The Fixer
from Vermont
The steam clean, center griddle on top level with the other four, convection fan, three top burner sizes, and ease to program, are all super features on this Cafe style gas range. The color black with smearless fingerprints is well done.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting cafeappliances.com
Customer Rating
5 out of 5
5
Love this stove!
on April 16, 2019
Posted by: LawrenceS
from Houston
I have had this stove for about 2 months and still love it! My previous 5 burner gas convection range was good and until i got this stove, i didn't think it could get better but this one is better as far as burners are hotter, i get notified on my phone when the timer goes off, the oven is preheated, and I really like that it uses my nest protect smoke detector in case something starts smoking in the oven and setting the smoke detector off, that the smoke detector can shut off the oven thereby preventing a fire. I use the flat top grill often to toast buns, make french toast etc. The best range I have ever had.
I would recommend this to a friend!
Written by a customer while visiting cafeappliances.com
Showing 1-8 of 111 results 
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 >>